Sen. Dino Melaye wins Kogi PDP governorship ticket

Spread the love


Former Senator who represented Kogi west at the National Assembly, Sen. Dino Melaye has won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Governorship ticket for Kogi State.

Recalled that a total of 27 individuals had picked up Expression of Interest forms to contest in the primary elections.

Sen. Melaye in a Congress held at Kefas Multipurpose Hall on Sunday scored over fifty percent of the votes cast.

The returning Officer for the election while announcing the result on Sunday said Senator Dino Melaye scored 313 votes against Idoko Ilonah’s 124 votes.

Others are: The former deputy governor of Kogi State Architect Yomi Awoniyi scored 77 votes while Musa Wada scored 56 votes

The primaries featured several notable personalities aside the former Senator, including former Senator Attai Aidoko, Kebiru Usman, Abdullahi Haruna, Zakaria Alfa, Musa Wada, Bolu Femi, and Idoko Idah.

The former governor of Kaduna State, Sen. Ahmed Maikarfi who is the Chairman Electoral Committee, declared Sen. Melaye as winner of the election.

In a tension soaked election, with protest leading to the Congress over the delegates list, the process however went on smoothly, with the supervision of the Independent National Electoral Commission.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *