Breaking:Kogi Assembly Re-elect Prince Kolawole as Speaker.

Spread the love

The Kogi State House of Assembly on Thursday re-elected Hon. Prince Matthew Kolawole as the new Speaker of the 7th Assembly.

Kolawole, the immediate Speaker, represents Kabba/Bunu state constituency was returned unopposed.

Kolawole reelection followed the inauguration of the 7th Assembly by the state governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello.

The Speaker was nominated by Bello Hassan from Ajaokuta constituency and seconded by Momoh Rabiu from Ankpa 11 constituency.

The Speakership tussles had been a fierce contest between Kolawole and Hon. Jimoh Omiata from Yagba East state constituency; but it was surprising that no other nomination was made for the Speakership position.

Other principal officers are; Ahmed Muhammed (Deputy Speaker, Ankpa 11); Hassan Bello (Majority Leader, Ajaokuta); Ndakwo Idris (Deputy Majority Leader, Lokoja 11); Mourktar Bajen (Chief Whip, Okene11); and Ododo Moses (Deputy Chief Whip, Dekina 11).

All the Principal officer were elected unopposed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *