Convention:APC North Central Governors Agree To Secure National Chairmanship Position

Spread the love

The All Progressive Congress (APC) governors from North-Central have agreed to work toward securing the party’s National Chairmanship position in the zoning arrangement during its next convention.

This, according to them, is because the zone commanded highest per cent of votes during previous elections.

The Niger State Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello, disclosed this on Tuesday when he granted audience to the APC North-Central Stakeholders’ Forum who paid him advocacy visit at Govrnment House, Minna.

He said, “As the chairman of the North-Central Governors’ Forum, I have called a meeting of the APC Governors and we agreed that we should not be left out in the on-going political re-arrangements. There are many aspirants from the North-West and North-East”.

ALSO READ:  Group urges Attah Igala to visit territories outside Kogi

Governor Bello further informed his guests that the APC national offices were expected to be rotational, adding that those allocated to the North would be moved to the South while such key positions that were in the South would moved to the North.

He added, “Yes, we have already discussed at the APC North-Central Governor’s Forum to go for the office of National chairman, but it is not in my place to say who would get it or not.”

Bello hinted that Governors from the zone would meet with key stakeholders and decide on who would be the best candidate to occupy the APC National Chairmanship seat,If the position is eventually allocated to the zone.

ALSO READ:  Gov. Bello loses another aide.

He recalled that in the past few years, North-Central zone had not been favoured in the APC National positions, notwithstanding the fact that the zone had the highest votes in previous elections.

Speaking earlier, the Coordinator of the Forum, Mr. Dominic Alancha, said they were in the state to canvass for the support of Niger state for the candidacy of the former Nasarrawa state Governor, Senator Umaru Tanko Almakura, for the APC National chairmanship slot.

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *